See the latest EHS federal and state regulatory updates due to COVID-19

Potential Reclassification of Several Areas Classified as Moderate for the 2008 Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards

As of July 20, 2018, eleven (11) areas in ten (10) states were classified as Moderate nonattainment for the 2008 ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS). On November 7, 2018, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) proposed actions for these eleven (11) nonattainment areas. These areas were required to meet the standards by July 20, 2018. By January 20, 2019, EPA must determine whether these areas met the standards by the attainment date, and if not, take appropriate actions.

Seven (7) areas failed to meet the 2008 ozone NAAQS by the attainment date. These seven (7) areas would be reclassified as Serious nonattainment once EPA's final action on this proposal takes effect. The action would give each state until July 20, 2021, to achieve the standards. These seven (7) areas are as follows:

  1. Chicago-Naperville, IL-IN-WI;
  2. Dallas-Fort Worth, TX;
  3. Greater Connecticut, CT;
  4. Houston-Galveston-Brazoria, TX;
  5. Nevada County (Western part), CA;
  6. New York-N. New Jersey-Long Island, CT-NY-NJ; and
  7. San Diego County, CA.

For these seven (7) areas, EPA is seeking comment on the proposed deadlines, by which state air agencies must submit State Implementation Plan (SIP) revisions, and implement emission control measures to satisfy the air quality planning requirements for Serious areas. The public hearing date was February 15, 2019 at 9AM in Washington DC. EPA will accept public comment on this proposal through February 22, 2019.

You can find additional information on EPA's website, or contact the Trinity office nearest you at (800) 229-6655.