Effective June 18, 2018, Georgia Environmental Protection Division (EPD) has revised Georgia Air Quality Control Rules (GAQCR) to remove 391-3-1-.03(8)(13) “Additional Provisions for Ozone Non-attainment Areas” that were applicable to sources in the original 13-county ozone non-attainment areas (NAA) (Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding, and Rockdale counties) whose potential volatile organic compound (VOC) or nitrogen oxides (NOX) emissions equal or exceed 25 tons per year (tpy). This included the 25 tpy VOC/NOX NAA major source applicability threshold for both Title V and New Source Review (NSR) purposes, the 25 ton VOC/NOX 5-year aggregation rule for assessing NSR modifications, and the VOC/NOX emissions off-set requirement of 1.3:1.0 tpy for NSR major modifications.

Additionally, EPD modified the NAA provisions to only be applicable to sources located in a revised ozone NAA (Bartow, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Newton, Paulding, and Rockdale counties) having potential VOC/NOX emissions of 100 tpy or more. Applicable sources in this new NAA will only trigger NAA NSR if a modification is equal to or greater than 40 tpy VOC/NOX. The VOC/NOX emissions off-set ratio for major modifications in this new NAA is 1.15:1.0 tpy. EPD modified its “Title V Operating Permits” regulations to remove the 25 tpy VOC/NOX applicability threshold in the 13-county area.

EPD added applicable counties (Barrow, Carroll, Hall, Spalding, and Walton) to the “Additional Provisions for Electrical Generating Units in Contributing NAA” regulations. This ensures that future electrical generating units in these counties will be regulated in a manner that continues to minimize their impact on the remaining NAA counties.

If you have any questions about how this may affect you, please reach out to Trinity's Atlanta office at (678) 441-9977.