Have you ever wondered what effluent guidelines apply to your wastewater discharges? There are various categorical discharge limits that have been developed by EPA on an industry-by-industry basis outlined in 40 CFR 401 through 471. Each categorical discharge standard refers to several levels of control technologies:

  • Best Practicable Control Technology Currently Available (BPT);
  • Best Available Technology Economically Achievable (BAT);
  • Best Conventional Pollutant Control Technology (BCT);
  • New Source Performance Standards (NSPS);
  • Pretreatment Standards for New Sources (PSNS); and
  • Pretreatment Standards for Existing Sources (PSES).

These control technologies each apply to different situations based on whether the facility is a new source or existing source, as well as whether the facility is a direct discharger (i.e., discharges to waters of the United States [streams, lakes, oceans, etc.]) or an indirect discharger (i.e., discharges to a POTW [municipal wastewater treatment plant]). A useful table summarizing control technology applicability can be found on EPA's website and is summarized below.

Types of Sites RegulatedBPT, BCT, BATNSPSPSESPSNS
Existing Direct DischargersX   
New Direct Dischargers X  
Existing Indirect Dischargers  X 
New Indirect Dischargers   X

If you have any questions on categorical discharge limits for your facility or need help permitting your facility's wastewater discharges, contact Trinity's Kansas City office at (913) 894-4500.