On December 18, 2014, the United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) issued final area designations for the 2012 primary annual fine particle (PM2.5) national air quality standard. The annual PM2.5 standard was revised on December 14, 2012 from 15.0 micrograms per cubic meter (μg/m3) to 12.0 μg/m3. Based on air quality monitoring data from 2011-2013, the following Ohio areas were designated as "nonattainment":

  • Butler County
  • Clermont County
  • Cuyahoga County
  • Hamilton County
  • Lorain County
  • Stark County
  • Summit County
  • The following areas of Warren County:
    • Clearcreek Township, Deerfield Township, Franklin Township, Hamilton Township, Lebanon City, Loveland City, Mason City, Turtlecreek Township, and Union Township
  • The following areas of Wayne County:
    • Baughman Township, Chippewa Township, Green Township, Milton Township, and Norton City

All other counties in Ohio have been designated as "unclassifiable/attainment." The areas listed as "nonattainment" will be required to take action to reduce fine particle pollution and meet the standard no later than 2021. As required by the Clean Air Act, those actions may include stricter controls on industrial facilities. Facilities emitting PM2.5 that are located in nonattainment areas should consider this information for current and future projects.

For more information on this article, please contact Mike Burr at 614-433-0733.