Official Ozone Non-Attainment Recommendations for Utah

On October 1, 2015 EPA reduced the ozone standard from 75 parts per billion (ppb) to 70 ppb.  The 70 ppb is calculated as the fourth-highest daily maximum, averaged across three consecutive years.  Salt Lake, Davis, Weber, Utah, and Duchesne Counties have three year design values that exceed 70 ppb.  Based on evaluation of air quality data, emissions, geography and topography, meteorology, and jurisdictional boundaries, UDAQ has recommended the following counties be designated as non-attainment on the Wasatch Front: Salt Lake and Davis Counties, Weber and Utah counties west of the Wasatch Front, and part of Tooele County.  It is anticipated that the Wasatch Front designation will be Marginal.  In the Uinta Basin, the recommendation was to reclassify portions of Duchesne and Uintah Counties to non-attainment below 6,000 feet in elevation.  It is anticipated that that the Uinta basin designation will be marginal or moderate non-attainment.  On September 29, 2016, Governor Herbert made a final recommendation to EPA which can be found on UDAQ's website.