Each fiscal year, the State of Utah includes a fee as part of its Operating Permit Program, which is required by Title V of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990. This fee funds all direct and indirect costs associated with administering the program, and is subject to change according to the Utah Air Quality Board's (the Board) proposition to the legislature.
On September 12, 2019, the Utah Division of Air Quality recommended that the Board propose for public comment a fee increase of $6.92 per ton of emissions for the 2021 fiscal year. This raises the fee from the 2020 fiscal year fee of $82.75 to $89.67 per ton of emissions. The 8.36% increase is a result of a 5,400 ton reduction of chargeable pollutants, as well as staff salary increases, and is based on a projected emissions inventory of 48,500 tons of chargeable pollutants.