Effective July 12, 2010, EPA approved Wisconsin's request to redesignate Manitowoc and Door County to attainment for the 1997 8-hour ozone standard. Wisconsin's redesignation request included three years of data for the period of 2006-2008, indicating the 8-hour NAAQS for ozone, as promulgated in 1997, had been attained for the two counties. Manitowoc and Door County follow Kewaunee County which was redesignated as a maintenance area in 2008. Redesignation will increase the permit emission threshold trigger for new sources, thus resulting in a reduction in the number of sources needing permits in these areas. Counties still designated as nonattainment for the 8-hour ozone standard include Sheboygan, Washington, Ozaukee, Waukesha, Milwaukee, Racine, and Kenosha. For more information, review the Federal Register,Wisconsin's Ozone webpage, orEPA's 8-hour Ozone Map.